A poem from ALIEN to appear on Kaleidoscope Magazine

hand made older

A good few years ago, long before I put together Alien to Any Skin, I wrote a poem that deals with memory loss, among other things. It was called “The Waiting Room.” I sent it off to a magazine in August 2009, then forgot all about it.

Then a month or so ago I got an email. Kaleidoscope Magazine apologized for taking a long time getting back to me. They wanted to know if I would still allow them to include the poem in a forthcoming issue, 67. Of course I said yes, and they said they didn’t mind that it was already in Alien. Last night I received a rather formal email with an attachment. A Memorandum of Agreement along with a token payment offer. Wow. It wasn’t much, but they dealt with me in a meticulous and respectful manner so unlike other publications that I thought I should say something about it somewhere.

This might be a good time as any to say that I have a handful of copies of Alien to Any Skin still with me in Cape Town. You can send me a message here or on my main blog, http://www.matangmanok.wordpress.com if you are interested.

Sound Before Water and Kalmot ng Pusa sa Tagiliran, the new siblings of Alien and Baha-bahagdang Karupukan are taking some time to be put out due to various reasons. But hopefully some time soon they’ll take physical form. haha.

About matangmanok

Jim Pascual Agustin writes and translates poetry. Sometimes he tries his hand at essays and stories. His latest book is BLOODRED DRAGONFLIES, published by Deep South in South Africa. Check out the official blog page for Bloodred Dragonflies. In 2011 the University of Santo Tomas Publishing House in Manila released BAHA-BAHAGDANG KARUPUKAN (poems in Filipino) and ALIEN TO ANY SKIN (poems in English). The same publisher released his most recent poetry collections SOUND BEFORE WATER and KALMOT NG PUSA SA TAGILIRAN. In 2015 a new poetry collection in English, A THOUSAND EYES was released. His first collection of short stories in Filipino, SANGA SA BASANG LUPA, was released in 2016. UK publisher The Onslaught Press launches his poetry collection, WINGS OF SMOKE, worldwide in February 2017. San Anselmo Publications released HOW TO MAKE A SALAGUBANG HELICOPTER & OTHER POEMS in 2019 followed by CROCODILES IN BELFAST & OTHER POEMS in 2020 - both books can be purchased through their Facebook page.
This entry was posted in News Release, poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A poem from ALIEN to appear on Kaleidoscope Magazine

  1. Pingback: Another poem finds a home | Matangmanok

  2. Jim, congratulations on the publication of your poem.

Leave a comment